I just got my first DUI. What happens now?

Here’s what you need to know!

If you were recently pulled over for a DUI in Glendale, the first thing you need to understand is that it happens to good people like yourself far more common than you think. Every day, in fact!  It is common to feel anxiety and confusion about what lies ahead.  The idea that you have a criminal charge against you is pretty daunting for anyone.

At Alcocks and Associates, we understand exactly what you’re feeling at this moment and we will care for you like family. When you give us a call, a DUI attorney will cover the basics of Arizona DUI law such as:

  • How the court system works
  • What the penalties are
  • Some of the defenses we can use to try and win your case.

If this is your first brush with the law, you’ve likely never seen the inside of a courtroom except from on TV. We recommend that do as much research as you can to arm yourself with the information that you need. That way, when you speak with a DUI attorney, you will be better prepared to ask the right questions.

Any DUI lawyer will tell you that huge numbers of people face DUI charges every year.  Because of this, the court system is almost overrun with DUI cases on any given day.

Glendale DUI Sentencing and Mandatory Jail Time



If you’re on the fence about whether or not to hire a Glendale DUI lawyer to fight your case for you, consider the following. In Arizona, anyone convicted of DUI will go to jail. In fact, it is mandatory. The amount of jail depends on your alcohol concentration, your prior criminal history (particularly DUI history), as well as the circumstances of your case.

This is my first DUI offense. If convicted, how much jail time am I looking at?

Regular DUI = For a first offense, if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) reading is below .15, then the minimum amount of jail is 24 hours.

Extreme DUI = If your BAC reading is between .15 and .20, then the minimum is 30 days in jail.

Super Extreme DUI = If your reading is above .20, then the minimum jail time is 45 days.

Keep in mind that the State has to prove that your actual alcohol concentration was above those minimum amounts in order for you to be subject to the enhanced jail sentence.


BBB Accredited Business A+ | This website is not intended to replace legal advice. We are not responsible for changes in the law. Please consult with an attorney before making a decision about your case.